• Coloring Pages
  • Story
  • Worksheets

National Calender of India

The Shaka Calendar used as the official civil calendar in the country is the National Calendar of India. It is used in India besides the Gregorian Calendar. The Shaka Calendar, often referred as the Hindu Calendar is originally named as Shaka Samvat. It is also used for the calculation days of religious significance in the Hindu religion.

The Shaka Calendar was adopted as the National Calendar in 1957  and came into usage from March 22, 1957. It was adopted as the National Calendar in order to synchronize the usage of 30 different kinds of calendars used in India at that time.

There are 12 months in Shaka Calendar– Chaitra, Vaishakh, Jyeshtha, Ashadh, Shravan, Bhadrapad, Ashvin, Kartik, Margashirsh, Paush, Magh, Phalgun.

Copyright © 2024

Powered by Webdaksh Technologies